Birchwood II

Nationality:
Type:
Year of construction:
Tonnage:
Length: around 55 m
Width:
Sunk: 1918
Position:
Min. depth: 12 m
Max. depth: 26 m

Birchwood22CKR

             Download Birchwood II

 

 

The Birchwood II (Plastic Wreck)

is located in the north of the port of Ras Ghareb in a large bay with three other wrecks. This small, 55-meter-long cargo ship is lying on the starboard side at a max. depth of 26 m. The dive on this wreck starts at only 12 m. The screw is located at 21 meters – and is heading north. The ship is sunken about 1918 and still very well preserved.

Light streams bathe the holds in brightness. The dive through the holds is easy – the bags of the cargo with polyethylene granules float against the hull. At the rear part of the wreck is a still intact Crane, who has served the hold.
If you circled the stern, there are 2 entrance doors, refer to the engine room with stairs leading to the lower levels.
Swarms of young barracuda circle the mast with a lookout, which is still completely intact and equipped with radar and antennas.

In the cab is the still intact rudder and a compass and in the sand you can find a telegraph, which suggests the Dutch origin.

Dozens of slugs can be found on the wreck, different kinds of moray eels look out of their holes, lionfish hovering over the sand in the hunt for small fish. Arab angelfish patrol en masse. Nearly the whole wreck is populated with anemones, sponges and small crustaceans.

Own experience:

At the first dive early in the morning the view was a bit hazy – without any current.
At the 2nd dive at lunchtime, with a slight current, the visibility was better.
The 3rd dive in the late afternoon brought all its fish diversity to the fore.
Some small fishing net remains are hanging isolated on the wreck.

The growth is just overwhelming. All fish species cavort around in giant swarms in and around the wreck. I’ve never seen so many Arab angelfish. The “Leader couple” of the Arab angelfish accompanied us throughout the whole dive long and looked exactly what we supposed to do.

 

 

 

TOP

Birchwood II

Nationalität:
Typ:
Baujahr:
Tonnage:
Länge: rd. 55 m
Breite: m
gesunken: 1918
Position:
min.Tiefe: 12 m
max.Tiefe: 26 m

Birchwood22CKR

             Birchwood II  zum Download

 

 

Die Birchwood II (Kunststoff-Wrack)

liegt im Norden des Hafens von Ras Ghareb in einer großen Bucht mit drei anderen Wracks. Das kleine, ca. 55 Meter lange Frachtschiff liegt auf der Steuerbordseite in einer max. Tiefe von 26 m. Der Tauchgang an diesem Wrack beginnt bei nur 12 m. Die Schraube befindet sich auf 21 m – und liegt Richtung Norden. Das Schiff ist ca. 1918 gesunken und noch sehr gut erhalten.

 

Lichtströme baden die Laderäume in Helligkeit. Der Tauchgang durch die Laderäume ist einfach, – die Säcke der Ladung mit Polyethylen-Granulat schweben gegen den Rumpf. Am hinteren Teil des Wracks befindet sich der noch intakte Kran, der den Laderaum bedient hat.
Wenn man das Heck umrundet, finden sich 2 Eingangstüren in den Maschinenraum mit Treppen, die in die unteren Ebenen führen.
Schwärme von jungen Barrakudas umkreisen den Mast mit Ausguck , der noch komplett erhalten und mit Radar und Antennen bestückt ist.

 

Im Führerhaus befindet sich noch das intakte Ruder und ein Kompass und im Sand liegt ein Telegraph, der auf die Niederländische Herkunft schliessen lässt.

 

Dutzende von Nacktschnecken sind an dem Wrack zu finden, verschieden Arten von Muränen schauen aus ihren Löchern, Feuerfische schweben über dem Sand auf der Jagd nach kleinen Fischen. Arabische Kaiserfische patrouillieren in Massen. Beinahe das ganze Wrack ist besiedelt mit Anemonen, Schwämmen und kleinen Krebstieren.

 

Eigene Erfahrung:

Beim 1. Tauchgang am frühen Vormittag war die Sicht ein wenig trüb – ohne jegliche Strömung .
Beim 2. Tauchgang in der Mittagszeit mit leichter Strömung war die Sicht besser.
Der 3. Tauchgang am späten Nachmittag brachte all seine Fischvielfalt zum Vorschein.
Einige kleine Fischernetzreste hängen vereinzelt am Wrack. 

 

Der Bewuchs ist einfach nur überwältigend. Sämtliche Fischarten tummeln sich in Riesenschwärmen im und um das Wrack herum. Ich habe z. B. noch nie so viele arabische Kaiserfische gesehen. Das „Anführerpaar“ der arabischen Kaiserfische begleitete uns den ganzen Tauchgang lang und schaute genau, was wir denn wohl wollen.

 

Taucher.net Bericht der Birchwood II

 

 

TOP