Kimon M. – Sea Star bei Abu Nuhas

Nationality: Panamesien
Typ: Freighter
Year of construction: 1952
Tonnage: 3714 GRT
Sunk: 12. December 1978
Position: North side of Abu Nuhas
min. depth: 12 m
max. depth: 24 m

TGKimon M

             Download Kimon M

 

The Wreck

of this ship with 3714 GRT – the Kimon M – was mistaken for a long time with a ship which was the subject of a newspaper hoax. Since the wreck had been found – but the right identity wasn’t come across for a long time – it was given a name and a mysterious legend was fabricated. Thus the 106,43 m long Kimon M should actually have been called Sea Star and it came from Lebanon.

Nothing is further than that.

Originally this 14,70 m wide ship was called MF Brunsbüttel and was built in 1952, which at that time, was a typical engine cargo ship of medium size, with the building number 770 from the Hamburg shipyard H.C. Stücklen. The two 8-Zylinder Diesel machines with 2940 HP – coupled at one axle – allows this ship a speed of maximally 13 knots.

After its launching
in August 1952, the first shipping company to take over this ship, was the Willy Bruns GmbH in Hamburg. The ship was soon renamed: in 1953, the former MF Brunsbuettel was renamed to Ciudad de Cucuta. The same happened again in 1964 (Angela) and in 1971 (Kimon). In 1975, the panamese shipping company Janissos Shipping CO SA became the new owners, and the last renaming took place: The ship was now called Kimon M.

The Kimon M was on its way from Iskander/Turkey to Bombay/India on 12. December 1978, with a cargo of 4.500t lentils on board, as it passed by Shaab Abu Nuhas. From later findings, it is known that on this day, the Kimon M did not run aground on the reef, but on a wreck that lay here on the reef. This wreck was completely torn apart by the collision.

 

Today, you can see only a few miserable remainders of the bow section on the north-west reef roof. The rest might have slipped over the steep reef into unattainable depths. The wreck of the Kimon M lay for quite some time diagonally on the reef, partially above water. With time, it has continued to slide deeper, until it sank below the surface.

 

 

 

TOP

Kimon M. – Sea Star bei Abu Nuhas

Nationalität: Panamesisch
Typ: Frachtschiff
Baujahr: 1952
Tonnage: 3714 GRT
gesunken: 12. Dezember 1978
Position: Nordseite Abu Nuhas
min. Tiefe: 12 m
max. Tiefe: 24 m

TGKimon M

             Kimon M. zum Download

 

Der abgetrennte Bug der Kimon M liegt auf dem Riff Abu Nuhas und ragt aus dem Wasser.

 

Das Wrack dieses Schiffes mit 3714 BRT – die Kimon M – wurde lange Zeit verwechselt mit einem Schiff, das Gegenstand einer Zeitungsente war. Da man wohl das Wrack gefunden hatte – aber lange Zeit nicht auf die richtige Identität des Schiffes stieß – wurde kurzerhand ein Name und eine geheimnisvolle Legende gestrickt.

 

So sollte die 106,43 m lange Kimon M eigentlich Sea Star heißen und aus dem Libanon gekommen sein.

 

Nichts liegt ferner als das. Ursprünglich hieß dieses 14,70m breite Schiff MF Brunsbüttel und wurde im Jahr 1952 als damals typisches Motorfrachtschiff mittlerer Größe mit der Baunummer 770 auf der Hamburger Werft H.C. Stücklen gebaut. Die zwei 8-Zylinder Dieselmaschinen mit 2940 PS verliehen – auf eine Welle gekoppelt – diesem Schiff eine Geschwindigkeit von maximal 13 Knoten.

 

Nach dem Stapellauf im August 1952 übernahm als erste Reederei die Willy Bruns GmbH in Hamburg das Schiff. Schon bald wurde das Schiff umbenannt: 1953 wurde die ehemalige MF Brunsbüttel in Ciudad de Cucuta umgetauft. Gleiches passierte nochmal in den Jahren 1964 (Angela) und 1971 (Kimon). Als 1975 die panamesische Reederei Janissos Shipping Co. SA neue Eigentümerin wurde fand die letzte Umbenennung statt: Nunmehr hieß das Schiff Kimon M.

 

Im Auftrag dieser Reederei befand sich die Kimon M am 12. Dezember 1978 mit einer Ladung von 4.500t Linsen an Bord auf ihrem Weg von Iskander/Türkei nach Bombay/Indien, als es am Shaab Abu Nuhas vorbeikam. Aus späteren Ermittlungen weiß man, daß an diesem Tage die Kimon M nicht auf das Riff auflief, sondern auf ein Wrack, das an dieser Stelle auf dem Riff auflag. Dieses Wrack wurde durch den Zusammenprall vollkommen auseinandergerissen.

 

Von ihm sind heute nur noch ein paar kümmerliche Reste der Bugsektion auf dem nordwestlichen Riffdach zu sehen. Der Rest dürfte am steilen Riff in unerreichbare Tiefen gerutscht sein. Das Wrack der Kimon M selbst lag noch einige Zeit schräg am Riff, teilweise über Wasser. Mit der Zeit rutschte es immer tiefer, bis es unter der Oberfläche versank.

 

 

 

TOP